Northeastern Oklahoma Firm Defendants People Accused of DUI
Claremore firm serves Rogers County and other locations
Getting arrested on a charge of driving under the influence of alcohol can be frightening, frustrating and embarrassing. Regardless of what led to your stop, the experienced Oklahoma lawyers at Price Law, P.C. are ready to counter improper evidence brought against you and stand up for your rights against police and prosecutors. In Rogers County and the surrounding areas, we take on the authorities to help clients pursue a favorable outcome.
What are the penalties for an Oklahoma DUI?
Most drivers are considered legally intoxicated in Oklahoma if their blood-alcohol content is .08 percent or greater. However, drivers under the age of 21 can be charged even if their BAC is .02. Once you’ve been arrested, our firm can assist with your:
- Criminal case — A first DUI conviction in a ten-year period is usually a misdemeanor where the jail sentence can run between 10 days and one year. Other penalties include fines and the installation of an ignition interlock devices. Punishment increases with subsequent drunk driving offenses, aggravated DUI (where the BAC is .15 percent or higher) and instances when someone is injured in a crash caused by an impaired vehicle operator.
- Administrative action — Oklahoma’s Department of Public Safety (DPS) can revoke your driver’s license for six months or more, even if enough evidence does not exist to convict you of a crime. We push back against unwarranted charges to help you stay on the road.
- Potential defenses — Even when your blood-alcohol test result exceeded the legal limit, several strong defenses still might exist. Our assertive litigators review the facts to see if the charge was predicated on an unlawful stop, faulty test handling or another type of law enforcement error.
We know how important it is to maintain your freedom and driving privileges. No matter what led to your arrest, we’ll fight to minimize the disruption to your life.
What if I refuse a breathalyzer or blood test in Oklahoma?
Operating a vehicle on an Oklahoma road means that you’ve consented to letting the police take a breathalyzer or blood test if they have proper cause. Refusing to do so results in an automatic driver’s license suspension that could run from 180 days to three years. This is an administrative sanction, so you don’t get to defend yourself in court the way you would in a criminal case. However, if you’ve been cited for a test refusal, our firm can see if your punishment can be modified so that you can maintain some use of your car.
Are drug impairment cases harder to defend than alcohol DUI cases?
Any intoxicating substance can support a criminal charge in Oklahoma if it impairs the driver’s ability to safely operate their vehicle. This means someone affected by a prescription drug or illegal controlled substance can be arrested. Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUI-D) cases can be harsher than cases involving alcohol consumption because having any amount of certain drugs in your system while behind the wheel is unlawful.
You can drive after taking a prescription medication as long as you are capable of operating the car in a responsible manner. Speculating to an officer that you might have been affected by a substance could give them an excuse to make an arrest. Penalties are the same as in other DUI cases and you are considered as a multiple offender even if your prior conviction involved alcohol. As proven attorneys who have successfully defended both DUI and drug crime matters, you can rely on us for strong advocacy.
Contact an aggressive Oklahoma DUI defense lawyer to arrange a free consultation
Price Law, P.C. defends Oklahomans who have been charged with driving under the influence. Please call 866-206-1218 or contact us online for a free initial consultation regarding your legal options. Our office is in Claremore.